The “Magic” Soap You Can Use For Everything

I was just recently introduced to the wonders of Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soaps. The soap has been around forever, at least since the hippy days, but a more recent development is that they are certified organic and certified fair trade!

Dr. Bronner’s castile soap is an all-vegetable soap made from fair trade oils such as coconut and olive. There is absolutely nothing synthetic in these soaps and not only are the soaps biodegradable, their funky packaging (covered in Dr. Bronner’s eccentric philosophies) is 100% post-consumer waste recycled. The great thing about this soap is you can use it for absolutely anything! Here are just a few uses listed on Dr. Bronner’s website:

  • Bodywash or shampoo. It’s especially good for babies as it’s gentle and all-natural, although don’t get it in their eyes
  • Everyday cleaning using a ratio of 40 parts water to one part soap (light cleaning) or half water half soap (heavy cleaning)
  • Toothbrushing using just a few drops on your toothbrush
  • Laundry using 1/3 to 1/4 cup plus a dash of baking soda

I have yet to use my Dr. Bronner’s much but I have a big bottle of peppermint scented soap and a little bottle of lavender soap just waiting to be put to use. I did wash my hands this morning using a small squirt of the lavender soap and my hands still feel soft, smooth and smell great. As soon as my hand soap pumps are empty of their artificial, store-bought contents I’m going to refill them using this recipe I found on Enviromom:

1 cup water
1/4 cup liquid castile soap (like Dr. Bronners)
1 tsp vegetable glycerine

I think I’m going to quickly be hooked on this stuff. I’ve slowly switched to mostly natural cleaning and personal care products but most of them are so expensive. One big 16 ounce bottle of Dr. Bronner’s is under $10 at New Season’s or Trader Joe’s and can replace the myraid of various natural products I’ve been buying. The one use I think I’ll be slow on picking up is brushing my teeth with it though.

Leave me a comment and tell us how you have used Dr. Bronner’s. I’d love to hear more ideas and your experiences.

Coming tomorrow: Fair trade lotions and lip balms, continuing two weeks of fair trade product reviews for Fair Trade fortnight.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.