Turn Breakfast Into Compost Without Composting

My Oregonian newspaper last week gave me a great idea I’ve already implemented. Apparently my eggshells and coffee grounds are great for my garden as they are, without waiting for them to become compost. That’s a great thing because I haven’t started composting, although buying an Earth bin from Metro is on my summer to-do list and the spot in my yard to put the bin is all ready. In the meantime, I’m taking my french press out every morning and pouring the Stumptown coffee grounds directly at the base of my blueberry bushes. Blueberries, like rhododendrons, azaleas and hydrangeas, all love acid. Coffee grounds add just what they need back to the soil. My eggshells are going at the base of my tomato plants for now. Eggshells add calcium back into the soil, which tomatoes love and apparently they help prevent blossom end rot. Later in the year when the tomatoes are gone I’ll feed eggshells to other plants around the yard. Until I’m fully composting, it’s nice to discover there’s something easy I can do now that keeps a small amount of my food waste out of landfills and makes my plants happy.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.