Bag Me in the Produce Section

It hit me a few weeks ago that it doesn’t make a lot of sense to take along my own grocery bags to the store or farmers’ market and fill them with lots of plastic produce bags. Those thin little bags are really hard to reuse since they tear so easily. They are made from petroleum just like the plastic grocery bags and they are equally hard to recycle, ending up choking our waterways, in landfills or incinerated in developing countries just like their check-out lane counterparts.

reusable produce bagsI discovered lots of reusable produce bag options on my new favorite bag website, reusablebags.com.  I ordered five of their organic cotton net produce sacks. These bags are sturdy and can be used probably hundreds of times (it’s only been a few days so I’ll have to get back to you on that). I chose them because they are see-through, which I know is important from my days as a supermarket checker in college.  I ordered five knowing I usually take 3-5 plastic produce bags on a grocery trip. If you order four or more the price goes down from $3.95 to $3.45 per bag, so I took advantage of the savings. If you buy ten or more the price goes down even more to $3.25 so if you get a friend to go in with you and buy a bunch you both save.

I used several of the bags on last Sunday’s trip to Whole Foods. The checker didn’t even bat an eye and I was proud to walk out of the store without one single plastic (or paper for that matter) bag in sight.

What do you use instead of plastic produce bags? Have you found a great alternative that works well for you?

1 Comment

  1. Kristen Quintero said,

    April 10, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I just filled the back of my car with some of the cloth bags that we’ve accumulated over the years. This should make it easier to remember – especially when I go into the grocery store. If they are in my car, I’ll definitely use them. Thanks for the reminder Beth.
    Kristen Q.


Leave a Reply

