Spring is Bright at Bambootique!

Spring seems to be jumping in and out this year. I have daffodils in my front yard but just last week they were dusted with snow. Today it’s chilly, two days ago I got a bit of a sunburn. I can only hope spring-like weather will soon decide to stay longer than a day or two…

Regardless of the weather where you are I wanted to share these cheery new bags and scarves that recently arrived on my doorstep from Cambodia, just in time for spring. The bags are made from silk hand-woven by villagers in Cambodia, then sewn into these gorgeous handbags. The scarves are also hand-woven, some from silk and some from cotton, by the same skilled weavers. I’ve been wearing the purple-striped cotton scarf quite a bit to keep my neck warm on cool spring days and, I admit, because I think it makes me look hip.

Bambootique pays a fair and living wage to these artisans for their work and, because of the increased wages, the women are able to send their children to school and provide nutritious meals and medical care for them. What better reason is there to shop?

1 Comment

  1. patsy butler said,

    April 9, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I know you look beautiful in the purple scarf! I love your blog, Beth. Your voice comes right through to me. Your blog is loaded with helpful, fun, inspiring ways to make this a better place to live and be able to shop while you’re doing it. The bags and scarves are very tempting. Thanks for the discount offers. I may have to shop real soon.


Leave a Reply

