Cleaning Up My Act

My inlaws came to visit this weekend and I overheard my father-in-law raving to my mother-in-law about how much he loved the handsoap in our bathroom. It appeared to him to be from Trader Joe’s, a forgivable error given the packaging did say “Trader Joe’s” all over it.

After a day of soaking in his praise every time he used the soap, I let him in on my little secret. I made the handsoap myself. He was so impressed, as was my mother-in-law, I was embarrassed to reveal what is involved in making it. I told them so I’ll tell you. But don’t tell anyone else! I want to bask a little longer in the feeling of housewife extraordinaire!

Here’s the recipe, borrowed from Enviromom:

1 cup warm water (warm to help the glycerin dissolve)
1/4 cup castile soap (like Dr. Bronner’s – I like lavender or mint, scented with essential oils not chemicals)
1 tsp vegetable glycerin (available at natural grocery stores or craft stores)

Put it all in an empty soap pump (like one from Trader Joe’s!), give it a good shake, and voila! You have great smelling handsoap that actually brings compliments!

Note: This mixture is fairly runny since it has such a high water content but you get used to using your hand to block the spray. I imagine store-bought liquid soap uses some sort of cheap chemical to make the soap thick.

On another note: I’m now making just about all my cleaning products myself and it’s so EASY. I’m taking off camping for a few days but will post some more recipes/ ideas when I return. In the meantime, if you have a favorite homemade cleaning product that you think is as good as or better than store-bought, share it with us here!

2 Comments

  1. Rena said,

    September 12, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Beautiful blog!
    Thanks for this recipe–I’d like to try it!

  2. September 24, 2008 at 7:34 am

    […] 24, 2008 at 7:31 am (Caring for the Planet, Green Kids, Saving Money) OK, so I know I said a few weeks ago I’d let you in on my “secret” formulas for making my own cleaning products. The […]


Leave a Reply

