I’m In Love With Burgerville

If I had a top ten list of things I love about Oregon, Burgerville would make the list. I visit my fave drive-thru at least once a week, sometimes more. I’ve been known to drive miles out of my way to get there, which I suppose isn’t exactly “sustainable” but it tastes soooo good.

My favorite thing to order these days is a kids’ meal. I can do that now that I have a child without getting funny looks. Grace and I have an arrangement that works well for both of us. She gets the apple slices (instead of fries) and the toy, I get the small hamburger and chocolate smoothie (substituted for a soda). As soon as we even approach the drive-thru Grace starts to yell “Apo, apo!” (translation – Apple! Apple!). My child actually has no idea she could get french fries from a drive-thru, and I love that she gets excited about fast-food-fruit.

Everything about Burgerville is sustainable. Today I noticed my straw is compostable. On the rare occasions when I do break down and get fries or a Walla-Walla onion ring, I don’t feel too guilty since they recycle all the oil to make biofuels. Their all-natural turkey burger is a favorite of mine when I’m really hungry (hold the mayo, add extra pickle, on a nine-grain bun). Just about every item on the menu comes from the Northwest and is sustainably raised. They even buy wind energy and they are now composting at many of their stores. I love this place!

My only complaint about Burgerville is their coffee. They serve fair trade coffee, which is a huge plus but whatever brand they are using, it tastes TERRIBLE. There are so many delicious fair trade coffees out there, I’m hoping they’ll switch to one soon. How about Stumptown served at Burgerville? Now THAT would be something.

Burgerville only exists in Oregon and Washington. I feel so sorry for the other 48 states!

Leave a Reply

