Chopstick Therapy

Reusable chopsticks mingle in a common bowl of ramen

Reusable chopsticks mingle in a common bowl of ramen

I have a confession to make. I go to therapy. Every Tuesday like clockwork I go and I always feel so much better. My therapists are three former co-workers (plus two others have moved away). We’ve been meeting weekly for lunch for over 3 years now and we have nicknamed our gatherings “Therapy Lunch,” because the experience is so cathartic we can’t think of a better name for ourselves!

We’ve gone through a lot together – babies, marriages, job upheavals, financial burdens, illnesses, identity crises, you name it. I’ll bet we’ll be meeting for lunch when we’re old and gray and toothless. At least, I hope we still will be.

Our lunches tend to be at local sushi places since the food is quick (comes around on one of those conveyor belts), affordable, healthy and delicious. The purpose of this post is actually not to rave about my wonderful friends (I love you guys!) but to show you how we’ve decided to go green by BYOC (Bring Your Own Chopsticks) to therapy lunch.

According to Treehugger, 46 billion pairs of chopsticks are disposed of each year in China alone and another 30 billion are exported from China to other countries. I know my little sushi therapy group goes through at least 200 pairs per year (52 weeks x 4 people 1x/ week). CRIEnglish, a Chinese government English news website, states that a single twenty-year old tree makes just 4000 pairs of chopsticks.  Now that we’ve seen the light and gone green with our chopsticks, perhaps we’ll save a tree or two over the course of our therapy lunches?  Now that’s good therapy for the planet.

2 Comments

  1. Becky Manderscheid said,

    September 1, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Yay, Therapy Lunch makes it onto the Blog! Oh how I miss you girls!

  2. Connie said,

    September 23, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Yay! I love Therapy lunch and I’m so happy to have my little chopsticks in their own little travel container. Someone pointed out to me that I’m pushing the stereotype that Asians carry their own chopsticks in their purses, but I don’t care! Save the trees!


Leave a Reply

