Trunk Show A Success For Fair Trade, For Haiti

Bambootique’s Holiday Trunk Show ended a week ago today and I’m still walking on clouds!  Thanks to the more than 70 of you who attended, shopped, snacked, chatted about fair trade and just let me get caught up on your lives. For the first time ever the trunk show was also a fundraiser and, together, we raised more than $1200 for Haiti Foundation of Hope’s community health program! Each of you who shopped can be proud that not only did each purchase support women artisans around the world, but you also contributed to improved health in a remote, rural part of northern Haiti.  Thank you!

I also want to thank each member of my fantastic trunk show crew: My mom Nancy for baking great cookies and helping with Grace; my mother-in-law Florence for helping me tag piles of product;  and to my fabulous girlfriends who helped me with prep and staffed the weekend (Karin, Katie, Jill, Heidi, Megan, Lorie, Mary Lee, Kristin, Hanna, Connie and Bethany).  Thanks also to my wonderful husband Steve for doing all the heavy lifting and being my Guy Friday when things got overwhelming.

I also had some great contributors of fair trade samples from other like-minded companies including Kalahari Tea, Strictly Organic coffee, Numi tea, Divine Chocolate and World Pulse magazine. Thanks for providing great free treats for all our guests!  They were much enjoyed, I can assure you.

Did you miss the trunk show? Stay tuned this week for new posts with a few great ways you can still shop Bambootique in the Portland area in plenty of time for Christmas. And of course there’s always online at www.shopbambootique.com, open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. There’s never a line or a long search for a parking space either!

1 Comment

  1. January 19, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    […] that aid continues beyond the immediate to help Haiti rebuild.  There is the above picture, of the Terre Blanche clinic about 120 miles north of Port au Prince. It is still standing and is expecting the arrival of the […]


Leave a Reply

