Women Helping Women May Mean Not Choosing A Woman

I’ve built my business Bambootique on the foundation that when women help other women, the whole world changes for the better. So when my blogging buddy Cheryl Janis alerted me to Sarah Palin’s misquote of Madeline Albright and its rampage through cyberspace a few days ago, my ears perked up.

Palin’s miquote of Albright, which she discovered on a Starbucks’ cup, was:

There’s a special place in hell for women who don’t support other women.

Albright’s actual quote on the cup reads:

There’s a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women.

Now I believe wholeheartedly in women helping other women. The power of women banding together to do good is incredible. However I don’t appreciate being hit over the head with the implication that I (or the majority of America’s women, if the polls are correct) are intrisically evil if we don’t support Palin because we share her gender. The agenda she brings to the table will do far more to harm women than her breaking Washington’s glass ceiling would do to benefit us. I have seen little in her agenda that would empower me or other women to be better wives, mothers, daughters, community activists or career women.  As Madeline Albright, an Obama supporter, responded to Palin’s misquote: “this election is not about gender.”  Governor Palin, my support for women everywhere will be demonstrated wholeheartedly by my choice for president. Manipulation and guilt will not be a factor.